Not a member? Become one today!
         iBerkshires     Berkshire Chamber     MCLA     City Statistics    
BART Announces Junior Book Awards
11:28AM / Tuesday, June 21, 2022
Print | Email  

ADAMS, Mass — Berkshire Arts and Technology (BArT) Charter Public School presented Junior Book Awards during a ceremony on Friday, June 17 at an all-school assembly.
The recipients follow:
The Saint Anselm College Book Award goes to a junior who exercises a capacity for academic achievement and qualities in the areas of civic engagement and social responsibility. This award goes to Josiah Hylton.
The RIT Award is given to a junior or juniors who demonstrate high academic promise. The awardee will receive a waived application fee and a $32,000 scholarship ($8,000 annually) if they are accepted for admission to an RIT BS/BFA program, and enroll full-time in the fall immediately following their high school graduation. The "Computing Medal Award" goes to Isaac Huberdeau and the "Innovation and Creativity Award" goes to Ranger McGinnis.
The Williams College Book Award program is designed to encourage intellectual excellence and to recognize student achievement. A book is awarded to high school juniors who have demonstrated intellectual leadership and made contributions to the extracurricular life of their schools. This award goes to Ivan Chen.
The St. Lawrence Book Award honors high school juniors who have distinguished themselves in their communities by their commitment to community service. An actual book is awarded to these students, along with a $4,000 scholarship ($1,000 per year for 4 years) for those Book Award recipients who apply and are admitted to St. Lawrence University. This award goes to Huseyin Colak.
The Saint Michael's College Book Award recognizes students who are chosen by their schools for demonstrating a strong commitment to volunteerism and leadership in their communities. Recipients of this award are considered for a four-year merit scholarship at Saint Michael's, ranging in the amounts from $17,000 to full tuition contingent upon an offer of acceptance.  This award goes to both Kat Parslow and Corey Lynch.
The Lasell University Book Award honors students who embody the Lasell motto, Repulsae Nescia (Ignorant of Defeat). The recipient should consistently pursue the greatest version of themselves. The winner of this award will receive $1,000 per year if admitted into Lasell University. This award goes to Elliot Krantz.
The Cornell Award recognizes one junior nominated by school staff based on academic excellence (the top 10 percent), as well as a student who is community minded and character driven. This award goes to Awa Touray.
The College of the Atlantic Book Award is awarded to an adventurous student, invested in creating positive change in the world, and who is engaged in their learning and community. This year's COA Book Award is given to Kalyn Daniels.
Springfield College recognizes one student who has a proven record of service to his or her school and greater community; and has the personal values and aspirations which closely align with the mission of Springfield College which is to educate students in spirit, mind, and body for leadership in service to humanity. This award goes to Sawyer Moser.
Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award, University of Rochester is given in recognition of achievement and intellectual promise in the field of science. If accepted to the college, this awardee will be eligible for a minimum of $5,000 a year totaling $20,000 over the length of their degree. This year's award goes to Corey Lynch.
The Xerox Award for Innovation and Information Technology is given to a junior with a strong interest in innovation and technology, with a high level of achievement in this area. This student is a leader in their class and shows promise in their future within technology and science. If accepted to the college,  this awardee will be eligible for a minimum of $5,000 a year totaling $20,000 over the length of their degree. This year's award goes to Ruby Pullaro-Clark.
The Suffolk University Book Award is given to a student who exemplifies a commitment to their education and school community. This award goes to Ivan Chen.
The Brandeis University Book Award is presented for a commitment to civic engagement, community service, political activism, social justice, or volunteer work. If accepted to the college, this student will receive a $3,000 scholarship for the first year of their course studies. This award goes to Awa Touray.
The MCLA Book Award is presented to an  high school junior who exemplifies academic achievement, displays leadership qualities, and has a strong commitment to the Berkshire County community. This student will receive $1,000 their first year at MCLA if admitted to the program.  This award goes to Anelisse Ahoon.
The Elmira College Key Award is an award that honors juniors who have demonstrated school and community leadership. The Key Award winners are eligible to receive an $80,000 scholarship over a four-year period, $20,000 per year, upon enrolling at Elmira College. This year's Key Award winners are Schuyler Durand and Matthew Lizzo.
The Wells College 21st Century Leadership Award guarantees a $10,000 ($40,000 over the course of study) scholarship upon acceptance to Wells College. This student is being honored for their commitment to leadership and community service within their school. This year's winner is Felee Davis.
The Western New England University Book Award is given to a high school student who shows a high level of leadership throughout their extracurricular activities and community service. This year's winner is Giordan Zavatter.
The Clarkson University Leadership Award is designed to recognize junior students who demonstrate strong leadership qualities, positively impact their high school and local community, and have a proven academic record. The recipient of the Clarkson Leadership Award receives a certificate of recognition and receives a $15,000 annual scholarship if accepted and enroll full time at Clarkson. This award goes to Layla Pedroza.
The Rensselaer Medal is awarded to a secondary school juniors who have distinguished themselves in mathematics and science and have contributed to their high schools through service and/or extracurricular activities.  The Medal is accompanied with a $100,000 ($25,000 annually) scholarship for those students who choose to enroll in Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. This award goes to Matthew Weiskotten.
More Featured Stories is owned and operated by: Boxcar Media 102 Main Sreet, North Adams, MA 01247 -- T. 413-663-3384
© 2011 Boxcar Media LLC - All rights reserved