Not a member? Become one today!
         iBerkshires     Berkshire Chamber     MCLA     City Statistics    
Miss Hall's School Graduates 47 Students
02:18PM / Monday, June 10, 2019
Print | Email  

Fourteen area students graduated from Miss Hall's School on June 2.

PITTSFIELD, Mass. — Forty-seven students, including 14 from Berkshire County and nearby communities, graduated on Sunday, June 2, during Miss Hall's School's 121st commencement.
Ceremonies took place under a large tent on the front lawn of the school's Holmes Road campus. Kristina Delgado, a social impact strategist and the founder of Hearts on Fleek, a social change consultancy, as well as a member of the class of 2009, delivered the address.
Among the graduates were the following local students: Charlotte Adelson, of Lee; Elizabeth Cachat, Dalton; Samantha Elliott, Pittsfield; Trudy Fadding, Glendale; Haylee Gleason, Pittsfield; Emily Grady, Pittsfield; Mary Howe, Pittsfield; Faia Kronick, Pittsfield; Allison Lamke, Lenox Dale; Zeta Lenhart-Boyd, Williamstown; Andrea Loehr, Pittsfield; Merriam Lrhazi, Lee; Sophia Shea, East Chatham, N.Y., and Aysha Vadukul, Great Barrington.
Additionally, 12 students were recognized for their induction this year into the Cum Laude Society, the national organization honoring scholastic achievement at secondary schools. This year's MHS inductees are seniors Xiaomeng
"Rachel" Li of Chengdu, China; Xiaotong "Vanessa" Li of Beijing; Marisa Powell of Media, Pa.; Julia Xu of Princeton, N.J.; Shuyi "Zoe" Yang of Hangzhou, China; and Meklit Yimenu of Addis Ababa, Ethiopia; and juniors Xinlin "Melody" Cai of Guizhou, China; Jia Yi "Olivia" Cheng of Shanghai; Ria Kedia of Pittsfield; Bingqi "Yaya" Wang of Shijiazhuang, China; Ning "Wendy" Wang of Shanghai; and Yuling "Betty" Xiao of Beijing. 
They joined seniors Trudy Fadding of Glendale; Jiaying "Kelly" He of Shanghai; Zifeng "Christy" Liang of Harrison,
N.J.; Ziyan "Charlotte" Rui of Nanjing, China; and Zhiyu "Catherine" Zhang, of Nantong, China, who were inducted in 2018.
Rebecca Cook-Dubin, the Phoebe Goodhue Milliken '37 English Department Chair at Miss Hall's, was named the recipient of the Leonhardt Family Teaching Chair. Bestowed every four years, the Leonhardt Chair recognizes a
faculty member who possesses the highest personal and professional ethics, who has made a lifelong commitment to young people, whose skillful instruction enlivens the experience of learning, and whose wise counsel and guidance to students extend beyond the classroom. Faculty, staff, and students submit nominations for the honor.
The following awards were also bestowed during to commencement and related recognition ceremonies (students are seniors unless otherwise noted):
Joseph F. Buerger Memorial School Spirit Cup: Aysha Vadukul, of Great Barrington
Margaret Witherspoon Award: Trudy Fadding of Glendale
Christine Fuller Holland '33 Service Prize: Julia Xu of Princeton, N.J.
Faculty Commendation Award: Haylee Gleason of Pittsfield
Meus Honor Stat Keys Awarded for MHS Core Competencies:
Vision: Heather Eyong, of Magnolia, Delaware
Voice: Cely Abreu of Fort Myers, Fla.
Interpersonal Efficacy: Mitzy Mauricio of Haverhill
Gumption: Kieu Anh "Anna" Le of Hanoi, Vietnam
Sylvia 'Rusty' Shethar Everdell '38 Prize: Merriam Lrhazi of Lee
Andrea Becker '79 Prize: Ayla Wallace, class of 2020, of York, Pa.
Paul C. Cabot Jr. History Prize: Heather Eyong, of Magnolia, Dela., and Julia Xu, of Princeton, N.J.
Senior Prize in Engineering and Tech Innovation: Gaea Cortes of Los Angeles
Iive Rouse Science Award: Marisa Powell of Media, Pa.
James K. Ervin Mathematics Prize: Xiaotong "Vanessa" Li of Beijing
Horizons Prize: Charlotte Adelson of Lee
Mansfield E. Pickett Latin Prize: Trudy Fadding of Glendale
Spanish Prize: Kaidi Aloupis, class of 2020, of Falmouth, Maine
Monique Jalbert French Prize: Ziyan "Charlotte" Rui, of Nanjing, China
Virginia Breene Wickwire '67 Reading Prize: Faia Kronick of Pittsfield
Doris E. Pitman English Prize: Mary Howe of Pittsfield
Photography Award: Xin "Scarlett" Wang of Shanghai
Susanna McCreath Music Prize: Trudy Fadding of Glendale and Zhiyu "Catherine" Zhang of Nantong, China
Angela Kalischer Theater Prize: Ingrid O'Dell of Lynn and Ainsley Schuth of Ballston Lake, N.Y.
Ceramics Award: Charlotte Adelson of Lee
Elizabeth Gatchell Klein Studio Art Prize: Shuyi "Zoe" Yang of Hangzhou, China
Rising Distinction Awards for Juniors (all members of the class of 2020):
Athletics: Angela Guachione of Pittsfield
Engineering and Technology Innovation: Katarina Petrovic of Belgrade, Serbia
English: Evelyn Stewart, of Irvington, N.J.
English as a Second Language: Xinyan "Candy" Yu of Guiyang, China
Expressive Arts: Khanh "Kate" Nguyen of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
History: Zhongyin "Maggie" Zhang of Guangzhou, China
Horizons: Ayla Wallace of York, Pa.
Language: Kathryn "Kat" Sirois of Stockbridge
Mathematics: Jia Yi "Olivia" Cheng of Shanghai
Science: Jia Yi "Olivia" Cheng of Shanghai
Founded in 1898, Miss Hall's School is one of the first all-girls boarding schools established in New England. Today the School is a nationally recognized, boarding and day independent secondary school.
More Featured Stories is owned and operated by: Boxcar Media 102 Main Sreet, North Adams, MA 01247 -- T. 413-663-3384 F.413-664-4251
© 2011 Boxcar Media LLC - All rights reserved